Happy Birthday, Mom

Today my mom would have been 98 years old and I’m remembering her fondly.  I know I will always miss her but it has gotten easier over the years.  Just a few days ago I thought of something I’d like to remember to tell her and then caught myself.  So still after nearly 3 years she is still present in my mind–she’ll always be there in my heart.

In her honor I’d like to post a painting that I did many years ago thinking about my childhood with Mom.  She loved to plant flowers.  Always around the perimeter of our small yard something was growing.  One of my most vivid memories in the garden was helping Mom collect seeds from the four-o’clocks.  I still can feel the little hard round seeds in my child hands.  She grew many of those old-fashioned flowers but, by far, the queen of her garden was her peonies.  Red, pink and white all stood in a row along the sunny back of the yard.  She would tie them up before the flower heads got too heavy and fell over and always they were cut and crowded in vases in the house.

Yesterday’s Garden     Watercolor, Collage, Image transfers, Photos, Colored pencil.  About 14 x 19.

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in mixed media art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Birthday, Mom

  1. Sue Charvat says:

    Marge, I love this picture that you created and the post that you wrote about your mom! Very touching!

    Like

Leave a Reply

