Drank a lot of tea to make this book!

Accordion fold book

Cover pgs. 1 & 2 pgs. 3 & 4 pgs. 5 & 6

Here’s the accordion fold book I’ve been working doing on and off for a while.  Challenge was to create something from used tea bags.  Basic book is watercolor paper but all the surfaces are covered with tea bags that have been carefully taken apart and glued over old photos, etc. to create an antique look.  A coffee filter and some sewing pattern tissue were also used to add a little interest and variety.  I made the window on the cover with tea bag tissue placed across an opening in the cover and framed by card stock fashioned into window panes.  A group photo can be seen through the window.  An old metal key adds interest to the photos of my childhood home and mother and child.

In addition to old photos pages 1 & 2 contain a strip of old sheet music, an old stamp and a small vintage Christmas tag.

Pages 3 & 4 are topped by a copy of a favorite family recipe and a cupcake created with folded tea bag tissue.  The phrases “kitchen sink baths” and “licking the beaters” are stamped in old type face.

The last two pages are partially covered with sewing tissue pattern paper and on its own little wire hanger is a child’s sun dress made with tea bag tissue.  Vintage buttons cover the bottom of the last page with one sewed to the top using red embroidery floss.

The back of the book (not seen) is completely covered with the same small pieces of tissue over more old black and white copies of photos.

This was a very personal creation for me as I poured over some old albums to re-create some simple everyday moments from my childhood.  I love working with old photos and am thinking I may do more of this type.  Vintage photos are a great inspiration.  They are stories waiting to be told!

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
Gallery | This entry was posted in mixed media art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Drank a lot of tea to make this book!

  1. lisa hipkins says:

    I love this book!!! I am a scrapbooker who loves the unique and vintage look. Love everything about it!

    Like

  2. Thank you so much! I did take a peek at your books–they are so, so pretty. Keep me posted on all the things you do please 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

