15 down, 85 to go

Few more done towards my 100 faces.  These are “cheater blinds” from Drawing Lab # 11.  Drawing Lab, for Mixed Media Artists by Carla Sonheim.  Used a marker (Pitt Pen) to draw mostly blind contours–peeking here and there, hence the “cheater” part, and then finished up some details with a finer lined marker (Micron).  Next I just added a little color with some prismacolor pencils and they’re done.  Reference photos were from a high school yearbook.  I really like the boys photo the best–it turned out looking the most like the actual photo.  The girl on the bottom looks a little odd but in my defense she did have those kind of wonky bangs and her eyes were a little close!!

Next method I’m trying is gluing a cut-out magazine eye on my paper and drawing a matching eye and the face around it.  More to come!!

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in drawing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 15 down, 85 to go

  1. Carolyn Dube says:

    Your 100 challenge is inspiring! I like the boys best too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

