Three Ladies and a Man

Three Ladies and a ManNumbers 16, 17, 18 and 19 out of 100!  Only 81 away from my goal…..let’s see, if I can get 4 done in a week that means I will reach my goal in 20.25 weeks!!!  That’s at approximately 6am on July 31st…..woo-hoo!

The bottom two are pencil drawings from magazine pictures and the top left is a pencil drawing started with a collaged eye.  I drew the other eye and then built the rest of the face from there.  Top right is a portrait drawn and painted in Modigliani’s style.  Amedeo Modigliani was an artist from the early 20th century whose portraits were placed on simple backgrounds with flat faces and almond-shaped eyes.  I used a photograph of my mother as a young woman for reference.  This exercise is illustrated in Carla Sonheim’s book Drawing Lab for Mixed Media Artists.  Watercolors were used to paint the simple pencil drawing.  I will, for sure, try some more of these=fun!  Before doing this one I googled Modigliani and found so many great images to give me inspiration.

Now every artist knows it’s not so much the end product as it is the process.  My goal of 100 faces keeps me going but I know each face I work on has been a pleasure and unlocked valuable bits of knowledge on drawing the human likeness–the shape of the lips, shading in the hair, eyelids and creases around the eyes and my drawing nemesis THE NOSE!  So I am appreciating the journey and meanwhile I’m lining up all 19 drawings across a table in my studio to see how long of a line I can make.  I’m using cardstock cut in pieces approx. 4 x 5 inches.  So…….that’s about 4 x 100=400 inches divided by 12 inches equals…….well over 30 feet of tiny faces!!  Now there’s a goal!

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in drawing, mixed media art, portraits and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

