Am I smiling?

collageNeeded a little break from my “faces” project so I tried something a little different–just a fun collage inspired by rummaging through my collage stash.  I have one of those plastic carts with six skinny drawers.  I labeled each drawer with a label maker for my different images I’ve saved, faces and figures, flowers/trees, animals, birds/butterflies, architecture and misc.  I used to keep images in one plastic bin but this works out so much better when I’m looking for something specific.  I can pull out the drawer and sit on the floor and find what I’m looking for or just sift through for inspiration.

This strange creature with the barefoot eyebrows and the upside down mushroom nose is the product of sifting through images looking for “face parts” that weren’t really parts of a face!

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in mixed media art, portraits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Am I smiling?

  1. Sue Charvat says:

    I think I know this person! 🙂

    Like

  2. Hmmmm……maybe it’s a self portrait??

    Like

  3. How cute! My hubby and I are “playing” a game, he goes and digs out a pile of stuff from my stash, and I have to use it all to make something…kind of gives the ole brain a workout, lol!

    BTW, you’re it! I got tagged in a game of blog tag, and you’re it…you can see the post about the game over our blog and find out the details. No obligation to play, but I do hope you’ll join in the fun. And what a fun way to share with everyone how much I love your blog.
    xoxo MotherDana

    Like

Leave a Reply

