Can’t we all just get along?

2 ducks and a frog

We arrived home from our trip down South a couple of weeks ago to find a new family had moved in while we were gone.

Mama and Papa Mallard ducks have decided this is where they want to raise their future ducklings.  They were a little alarmed when we returned–the garden pond is right next to several windows–but we gave them space and they quickly got used to us.  They probably spend about 80% of their time swimming or laying by the pond.  Several times a day they stroll back to the bird feeders to clean up any spilled seed.  I’m really hoping they nest and we get to see the little hatchlings.

A couple of days ago I was walking about the yard assessing what of my many outdoor projects I would tackle next when I looked up to see duck, duck, frog!  Three of them in a row sunning themselves on the rocks.  Crazy me, but I got the same sort of warm fuzzy feeling when you see your kids playing nice together!  A little bit of harmony in nature in my own backyard 🙂

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in nature, photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

