Two rabbits, earrings, slippers and a magic wand.

Bleeding hearts

The flower of my childhood!  I love this Spring blooming bush and it never fails to disappoint in spite of cold weather, too early Springs (is that even possible?) and a tree trimmer planting his ladder right in the middle of it.  It always returns stronger than ever!

What I love most, though, is the memories it evokes of a little girl sitting in the grass gently picking one single bloom and then carefully separating the parts of the flower.  When I was quite small my mother showed me how to pull the two pink bunnies from the outside and set them side by side.  Inside were a pair of earrings I would hang on my little ears and the tiniest pair of slippers for the fairies.  At the very center, still clinging to the stem was a magic wand just like Tinker Bell would carry.  It was tiny and delicate and at it’s very tip was a powdery yellow bit of fairy dust!

I was in awe that my mother shared this secret of the Universe with me!  I don’t think a Spring has passed that I haven’t repeated that little ritual I learned so long ago and I always looked forward to passing this little bit of magic on to the children in my life.  What magic from your childhood still lives on in your heart?

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in nature, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Two rabbits, earrings, slippers and a magic wand.

  1. I really enjoyed reading about your childhood memory. What came to my mind after reading this was how my dad used to take me and my 2 sisters mushroom hunting with him. He would tell us that we had to be very quiet or the mushrooms would disappear back into the ground and then we wouldn’t be able to find any. My dad loved to tell jokes and play pratical jokes. I believed the mushroom story for a long time. ha!

    Like

  2. Slippers says:

    Thank you, I really enjoyed reading it. it brings up old memories of my childhood back as well. We used to pass an old factory and then my father told me that the smoking chimney was in fact a cloud factory ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

