M. C. Escher on LSD

“It is not the strongest of the species that survives, nor the most intelligent that survives.  It is the one that is most adaptable to change.”  —  Charles Darwin

Some years ago I was in a design class and the assignment was to create some work of art and hide something in it (think chameleon).  I accomplished this with styrofoam, cardboard tubes, an oatmeal box, some lizards I made from clay and some of the wackiest fabric I could find.  I set about constructing a mini town somewhat in the fashion of M. C. Escher or Dr. Suess.  This was one of the most fun projects ever–I felt like I was 10 years old and building a fort with the boxes from the nearby  appliance store we would drag into the yard!

There are 11 lizards total hidden in plain site.  If you look really close there is one crossing the bridge, one on the front side of the black and white polka-dotted arch, a large one on the black and white checked floor and a lizard head poking out of that funky, puffy, stringy thing on top the tower.

When I read the Darwin quote (see top of post) sometime in the past week it brought back memories of this priceless artifact I had hidden away in a closet somewhere.  Why?  Because the title I chose for my creation was:  “Evolution Happens When You Adapt to Change!”  My friend and I in the class jokingly called it “M. C. Escher on LSD.  Now don’t laugh–I actually got a 3rd place ribbon for this in the end of the year art show 🙂

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
Quote | This entry was posted in 3-D creations, mixed media art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to M. C. Escher on LSD

  1. So much fun! We used to drag boxes from the neighborhood appliance store into our yard to build forts too! Thank you for reminding me of a wonderful memory.

    Like

  2. I bet you did have a lot of fun making it. Such fun colors and and I love the title!

    Like

Leave a Reply

