The prodigal artist!

I feel so guilty for being away from my blog for well over a month that it make’s it really difficult to begin again.  But as the sportswear company used to say, “Just Do It”!    Good news is I’m back in the art making groove again–hand has been healing well after some surgery, family has visited and we’ve recovered from an extra 8 to 12 kids and grand-kids occupying our house and I’m done with my day job–retirement has begun!!

Last week I took part in Carla Sonheim’s online class “Junk Mail Artist’s Book”.  What a fun process!  I’m a little behind trying to fit that in around my last days at work, physical therapy and grand-kids but when I get some pages good enough to photograph I will post the pics.  Next week I’ll be starting another of her classes, “Drawing Imaginary Animals”  and in July yet another Carla class, “Faces 101”.  Looking forward to both of those and she is offering a couple more in August.  The “faces” class will help me reach my goal toward the 100 faces project I was working on earlier this year and abandoned for awhile. 

I also tripped over Liz Lameroux’s FREE read along of her book, “Inner Excavations” which started last week.  She has great video blog posts and a Flickr site for those following the read along.  Lucky for me I had already worked through the first 2-3 chapters and done some of the photography, writing and mixed media tasks and was able to post them on the Flickr site which made me look like the classic over-achiever!!  She is doing 1 chapter per week for 7 weeks–still not too late to join–you can jump in at any time.

What I need now is a good “how to make sense of all the ins and outs of blogging class”.   I’m still having trouble attaching links to my posts so if any of the above sounds interesting to you please just search them by name and you’ll find their blogs with all the info you need.  Sorry 😦   Happy Summer to you all and enjoy every creative moment!

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The prodigal artist!

  1. Good for you Marge. I need to get back to mine as well. Loved the performance artist by the way!

    Like

  2. Thanks, Ellen. I’ll be watching for your next post. You should post your “wings” picture when you’re ready.

    Like

  3. Happy Summer to you too and happy creating!

    Like

  4. Carolyn Dube says:

    Glad to hear you are healing! I loved Carla’s classes- I took all 3 that you mentioned last winter. She does a fabulous job!! Can’t wait to see what you’ve made!

    Like

Leave a Reply

