Journal Every Day (almost)

Around the end of the summer I came across the book by Eric M. Scott and David R. Modler, Journal Fodder 365, Daily Doses of Inspiration for the Art Addict.  It was a different approach to art journaling than I had tried before.  My art journals to this point had been “finished pages” with lots of layering and a theme or subject.  Some were great but many were less than satisfying, too overworked, not quite saying what I wanted to convey.  I was putting a lot of pressure on myself for a simple art journal page and it was making it difficult to journal with any regularity.  Paging through their book I noticed the pages were not “pretty” but they were interesting.  There was something appealing about the chaos and randomness of it all.  I hadn’t worked in my journal in quite a while and I felt a nagging to get back at it.  This was just the nudge I needed.  Scott and Modler, or as they call themselves, “the journal fodder junkies”, organized their book in to a year’s worth of inspiration–12 chapters–one for each month.  Each month explores some aspect of who you are and what you’re looking for out of life–loosely.  Within each chapter are weekly prompts to write about but they encourage that these are just a rough framework to use as much or as little as you like.

I’m enjoying the looser approach.  I start a page, go on to another then revisit the previous with a different idea.  The working back and forth has been freeing for me–knowing that I am recording my day to day thoughts along with my reflections from the writing prompts–throwing in some random collage, a little drawing, some doodling and the occasional to do list!  I’m working bigger in a bound book that measures about 8 x 10 and not worrying about preparing pages (NO gesso)!  Its working for me.  I take my journal everywhere and I spend some time with it every day (almost).  I’ll be posting some of my pages and since I’ve been at this for more than 2 months now I’ll try to post several a week.

Journal page

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in art journaling, drawing, mixed media art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

