Offerings

self portrait

Started out this page by writing in my journal with a watercolor pencil.  Next I took a paintbrush and clear water to go over a large part of the written entry.  This obliterates a lot of the writing and you can be selective with words or phrases you’d like to save.  I added several other items right on top the writing.  I had a self-portrait I drew a few years back in a sketchbook.  I placed tissue paper over it and traced most of the details.  Then I used gel medium under and over to glue the tissue paper drawing to the page.  The thin tissue allows the text underneath to show through.  In the upper right corner I added a packing tape transfer of myself taking my first steps.  I copied the photo and burnished the wide tape on the front of the photocopy.  Then I let it soak in water for 5-10 minutes and gently rubbed the paper off the back of the tape leaving the image from the ink stuck to the tape.  I used glue stick to put the transfer on the page.  The more white space in your photo the more the background shows through.  On the same page I collaged a picture from the front of a potato chip bag–Two arms holding out hands full of potatoes.  This image gave me my title of “Offerings.”  I journaled a little more on top of the text already there and I high-lighted words and phrases from my original journaling by writing over the words in a darker or a different color so that they would stand out.  A couple of strips of patterned tape adds a little punch to the pages.  Hope you enjoyed my descriptions!

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in art journaling, mixed media art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

