Random collage, random thoughts.

Random Collage

 

One of the suggestions for starting a journal page is to browse through images and just pick something that catches your eye.  It doesn’t have to mean anything just some image you connect with.  The first thing I put on the page was the image of paint colors from an ad.  I loved the circles and the muted colors of the paint.  When I glued it in I placed it hanging from the top of the page.  It reminded me of a bunch of grapes.  The rectangles with words  in them are showing through cut-outs from the previous page.  I tried to incorporate those words into the journaling on this page.  The scary green face is a drawing of the candy “Frankenkitkats” I made with the kids on vacation in the mountains.  We tinted melted white chocolate green and dipped a single kit-kat wafer in at one end.  Quickly smush a mini peanut butter cup on top for his hair, let him dry and use tubes of black and white frosting to draw in eyes and other features.  The directions suggested small pieces of black licorice for his mouth and little bolts on his neck.   Mmmmm….no, that was too difficult so we just ate the licorice!  Our little monsters sure didn’t come out like the picture in the magazine and honestly they looked more like Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles than they did Frankenstein but the kids ate them anyways!  I thought that project deserved to be preserved with a little picture in my journal.  That’s what makes this journal more meaningful for me.  It’s a place to record day-to-day activities in addition to journaling about more personal themes and ideas.  Plus its a place to doodle and try out some drawing exercises and record some lists of things I want to remember.  Definitely a different approach to an art journal–think I’ll call it a life and art journal.

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in art journaling, mixed media art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random collage, random thoughts.

  1. Of all the art journal pages I see, the random ones like this one are my favorites! I love the different elements that don’t necessarily go together, but make up an interesting and fun journal page. The little bits and pieces with the doodles and words just make me smile!

    Like

Leave a Reply

