Lessons from my father….

Words of Wisdom

Words of Wisdom

Prompt for this page was “Pivotal People”  Each section of writing highlights someone who made an impact in my life in either a big or small way.  However, the phrase that seems stuck in my head and often surfaces was uttered many times by my dad.  He drove a city bus and saw all manner of humanity come and go on and off his bus.  Sometimes he would talk about some unfortunate person he encountered who may have been down and out–he was told a lot of hard luck stories as he drove and they talked.  Most of the time his story ended with the phrase, “there, but for the Grace of God, go I……”  This was his way of acknowledging how we are never that far away from being that person, the homeless one, the sick one or the one who is at the bottom of the barrel.  I always understood it as a caution to not judge others–we never know how we would have survived given the same set of circumstances to face in our own lives.  This phrase has echoed in my head so many times, often when I would visit patient homes when I worked as a respiratory therapist for our hospital’s infant monitor program.  Its humbling to remember that when we encounter someone who is in a bad situation, it’s not the time to pat ourselves on the back for doing well, its wise to thank God for saving us from the same fate!

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in art journaling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

