Not quite a Christmas decoration…..

098December was not a good month for art journaling with all the decorating, shopping, baking and other holiday activities.  So I let my daily practice in my journal slide but I did manage to get a painting done that I had been procrastinating on for quite a while.  Mainly because the wall space I was saving for it was looking kind of empty as the holiday decorations went up.  Well, whatever it takes, eh.  Originally I had been thinking of doing a large leaf portrait but the more I let that idea ruminate the more I was inclined to go a little more abstract and get the feeling of falling leaves.  I think I like it, however, I did not sign the painting yet because I may want to tweak here and there….maybe.  This is a 2ft. by 2ft. square gallery wrapped canvas in acrylic.  And yes actual leaves were harmed in the making of this painting! 

2013 finds me back on the journaling path and I will be posting some pages soon.  I have also joined a couple of other groups and have given myself the challenge for creating 365 in 2013.  Thinking small–so far one twinchie and a whole lot of journaling but we have been on the road and busy.  Hopefully this week will be the catalyst to launch my daily habit.  May 2013 be loaded with plenty of creative opportunities for all of you.  Leave a comment and tell me what artful pursuits you are up to in the new year!

 

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
Image | This entry was posted in mixed media art, nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not quite a Christmas decoration…..

  1. Beautiful! Love the colors!

    Like

  2. I would imagine your decorating baking and other holiday activities were yet another expression of your creative abilities. Beautiful painting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

