Can’t play the accordion but I can make one!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One of the first things I did in the New Year was to finish this “birthday book” for my little niece.  Actually her birthday was at the end of December but considering I started it the day before I had to promise it to her a little late.  This is all constructed from card stock and my own photographs.  I searched for pictures of her from birth to the present (she just turned eight), mounted them or parts of them on brightly colored card stock and attached to the accordion book.  I used a lot of conversation bubbles and wrote most of the comments in her own voice.  Once all the pages were in place I used small pieces of the same colors on the cover and wrote the letters in her name.  Add a button and some cord to wrap around and it’s a go!

This is about the 4th or so accordion book I’ve made (see my previous post, “I drank a lot of tea to make this book!”)  I like them because they can be used in so many ways.  In addition to laying flat and turning the pages like a regular book it can be stood up for display either in a straight line or in a circle-like star shape.  They can be constructed with cut-outs or pop-ups and is the basic start for a tunnel book.  The creative possibilities are many.  Mmmm…….I think I may be talking myself into making some more!

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
Gallery | This entry was posted in 3-D creations, books, photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can’t play the accordion but I can make one!

  1. This is so clever and what a wonderful keepsake.

    Like

Leave a Reply

