Easy-peasy journal backgrounds

Gel sticks

Gel sticks

I’ve had these gel sticks for quite a while, ordering them from Amazon when I was ordering yet another few art books.  Finally I got around to giving them a try.012  Thought a good use for them might be a start on journal page backgrounds.  These work well–easy enough to control where the color goes and dries quickly!

I used the red, the orange and the peach sticks and rubbed the broad end in up and down motions trying to “box in” some of the spaces while overlapping colors in other areas.  I just played until I was satisfied with the placement and the colors.  (I kept it pretty light knowing I could add more color later.)

Next step could be done with a brush if you like but I chose to use a damp paper towel.  Did I mention these gel sticks are water-soluble?  I gently rubbed the damp towel in up and down strokes to blend all the areas together.  I’m just working on thin journal paper here so I had to be careful.011

Used the same method with the turquoise, sienna and ochre.  On this one I’ve already added some collage and writing on top.

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in art journaling, books, mixed media art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easy-peasy journal backgrounds

  1. Jill Teitlebaum says:

    wow. Those look like the kind of fun I could handle! Thanks for the mini-lesson!

    Like

Leave a Reply

