Starbucks, grand-kids and bears, oh my…..

journal page

journal page

I like this journal page–maybe because I did this back in October on my birthday or  maybe because it reminds me of the Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate I treated myself to at Starbucks or maybe it’s my little one-liner bear I drew at the bottom of the page.   We had just returned from a great trip in the Smoky Mountains.  We usually visit there several times a year (one of our favorite places on Earth!).  And usually when we’re there we come across a black bear but not this time.  It may have something to do with the 3 grandchildren we had in tow since it was their Fall break time.  We did have a good time with the kids–rock climbing in the river, hiking a couple of trails, hay ride, miniature golf, carving pumpkins–it was a great trip!  Someday we hope we can be with them when they see their first bear…….from a reasonable distance!

The two little drawings in red were done by Owen, age 4, when we stopped for lunch.  He used the small sticky paper napkin rings to do his crayon drawings then wrapped them up in a napkin and told me he had presents for me.  Gotta treasure those sweet moments!  I love having my grandkids add things to my journal.  The two older ones are rarely without  sketchbooks of their own especially when we’re traveling in the car and they love looking through my journal.  It’s always a treat for me and an inspiration when they add their art work next to mine!

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in art journaling, mixed media art, nature and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

