Mandala

027

Had the urge to draw a mandala in my journal.  I had a page with already glued ledger paper on half of the fold and thought it might look interesting to span the mandala across  two different pages.  Started in my kitchen cupboards and found the largest plate that would fit comfortably on the pages.  Traced, then found a smaller size and smaller on down to a tiny bowl for the center.  Kitchens are amazing places filled with all sorts of possible art supplies:-)  So I ended up with about 5 concentric circles (I just eyed this, you could measure if you felt more comfortable).  Then the fun began–I used the drawn circle lines as guides to start my doodling from either or both sides of the line.  Really had no preplanned idea and I worked on it now and then over a day or two.  Stopped when I thought it looked balanced and finished.  It makes me feel peaceful just to look at it.  I was not fussy about it being absolutely symmetrical and I did the doodling freehand so there are little imperfections here and there and that’s OK.  I think I may include mandalas occasionally in my journal just for that wonderful zen feeling it gives off.

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in art journaling, drawing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mandala

  1. I love the look of it spanning both pages…and I love the ledger paper on the one side, very cool.
    xoxo

    Like

  2. JG says:

    Really interesting, something I actiually could do. Thanks.
    Judt

    Like

  3. Very cool! I love how it turned out and that you used 2 different papers for backgrounds!

    Like

Leave a Reply

