Here Comes Winter……

There we go.....

There we go…..

I’m finding journaling on the go is not always that easy.  I get too distracted by too many other things or maybe I’m trying to do too much.  I’m working on my Faces 101 class by Carla Sonheim and I am keeping a nightly writing journal of our trip plus have been dabbling with my travel watercolor set painting a few palm trees and hearts for Valentine’s Day.  (See my Flickr site in the right column)  Then there’s always the obligation to go lay on the lounge chair by the pool or walk on the beach (such a tough life;-))

The figure of the woman is a cut out from a catalog painted over with a little gesso so I could journal right on top of her.  I love including maps in my journal pages–just thinking I might paste an entire page with old maps and journal or draw a mandala on top.  I’m trying to add a few one-liner faces when ever I have a space I want to fill.  Those are the 3 at the bottom.  To draw place your pen at a starting point and keep it moving without lifting.  Eyes, hair, all the features and the face shape have to be connected.  Goofy looking but it’s a great warm up exercise.  The little heart collage is on the previous page seen through a cut out circle on the page.  When the page is flipped back you see the journal girl’s hand and the phrase “take my hand”.  I’ll post that journal page at another time.  Stay tuned;-)

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in art journaling, drawing, mixed media art, portraits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

