Head vs. Heart

580Recently I’ve signed up for a lot of online projects:  postcard swap, Strathmore painting class, drawing faces class, meditation with Deepak Chopra.  They are all work at your own speed except for iHanna’s postcard swap.  (scroll down to the badge on the right side of this blog).  So there’s no stress or deadlines except for trying to remember what is where and how to access it 😉

This painting comes out of a “Fearless Painting” online FREE workshop through the Dirty Footprints blog.  http://www.dirtyfootprints-studio.com/search/label/Total%20Alignment%20Free.  The encouragement and sense of freedom just oozes from Connie as she talks you into “painting like a five-year old”.  This is my painting from the first of about four lessons.  Only instructions were to scribble, add shapes and put some lines in there.  just the thing for loosening up but not being judgemental is the difficult part.  Connie talks about how children can paint for the sheer joy of moving the paint around and then move on.  We, on the other hand, are constantly having a critical conversation with ourselves; I shouldn’t have made that mark, now I’ve ruined it, why doesn’t my painting look as good as everyone else’s!  (See the Total Alignment badge on the right side of my blog)

Here’s my quest:  Get out of my head and let the painting flow from my heart<3

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in blogs I like, painting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

