Pages O’ Faces

stylized faces

Stylized Faces

About a month ago I divided a two page spread in my art journal into 18 spaces and over the next several weeks drew 1 or 2 stylized faces a day.  Sometimes the faces came from some inspiration but mostly just out of my head.  I used marker for these so I couldn’t erase or make changes.  I often didn’t have a preconceived idea of how the face would look when finished and my only rule was to make as many different ones as I could.  I would highly recommend this little exercise to anyone who likes to draw faces.  It’s fun, quick and confidence building.

Does anyone else like to draw faces in this way or do you know of a blog or website with stylized faces.  If you do can you tell me about it in a comment please 🙂

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in drawing, portraits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pages O’ Faces

  1. How fun! I am terrible at drawing faces, if I manage to get two eyes that look like they could go on the same face, then I usually mess up the nose and mouth, or I can’t draw a head to fit the features :/ I’m thinking about challenging myself to drawing one face a day, or something along those lines, but haven’t committed to it just yet. The faces you drew look great! How very inspiring and a cool idea!

    Like

    • Thanks for checking out my post! Have you tried one-liners where you just start your pen at some point of the face and keep moving without lifting? “Drawing Lab” the book by Carla Sonheim has a lot of good tutorials for drawing fun faces.

      Like

Leave a Reply

