Oh, the roads I’ve traveled!

self portrait

self portrait

Tried this little experiment I read about in an art teacher’s magazine at the library.  (Just browsing while I was waiting for my husband to finish up some research).  I glued a map page in my journal (8×10) and covered with a light application of gesso.  I made a line drawing of myself (or a reasonable facsimile;-) with my Pitt pen and used various colored markers to fill in areas delineated by the roads and divisions on the map.  Then I used a fine Sharpie to trace over the divisions.  Just a little something to play with and maybe it will be a springboard for some future creation with map backgrounds.

I just love using maps in my artwork, probably has something to do with my wandering soul!  What other ways have you incorporated maps or anything similar in your creative play?  Leave me a comment–I’d like to give it a try!

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in art journaling, drawing, mixed media art, portraits and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh, the roads I’ve traveled!

  1. lulu0201 says:

    What a brilliant idea Artsy! I really need to get some maps. So clever! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

