Fresh Perspective

012

Another page from my small Swatches Journal class with Kelly Kilmer.

Prompt here was, “In my head….”.  One of the constraints was use colors in the background you wouldn’t normally use.  Right away beige popped into my head, I’m more of a bright color girl.  But where do you find beige in your collage stash–not in mine, at least!  Grabbed a big fashion mag I begged from my hair salon–lots of skin tones in the ads–problem solved.

Working with a suggested template and a list of things to include in your collage is a great way to stretch yourself to try things you wouldn’t normally try–different colors, placements of focal images, layering and adding elements you don’t usually use.  I’m becoming addicted to decorative tape 😉

What are ways that YOU use to get a fresh perspective on your creating??

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in art journaling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

