I’m Baaaacccccck…….

1082Sometimes life just gets in the way.  It was late in June and I had the summer ahead of me.  All sorts of creative plans were running through my mind.  I was starting the index card a day challenge, postcard ideas were rattling around waiting for another mail-art opportunity to begin, I had 3 readied canvases with a request from a friend to paint some daffodils and then the grand kids came to visit.  Plans were set aside for time to swim and play and visit and I would get back to them as soon as the kids headed home.  We had fun–so much fun they stayed a month.  And I was exhausted.  So exhausted that I promised myself a little R & R before I restarted my regular routine.  (read this as procrastination)  I had lost my creative momentum and just didn’t know how to get it back.  So I did what every artist does sometimes–I threw roadblocks of excuses in my way–yard work, house projects, doctor’s visits, birthdays to get ready for (in my defense late summer and fall contains one heck of a lot of family birthdays).  Before I knew it the Christmas holidays were here and gone and New Years loomed ahead with the stark reminder 6 months had passed and I had not done anything creative enough to be blog-worthy.  So one of my resolutions this year, yes, I know I’m a week into the year already, is to blog every week and to create something to blog about.  I’m giving myself the challenge to do at least 5 collages/week.  I’m starting the year with an 8″ x 8″ format and this first week I’m just thinking random.  No particular subject just work fast without too much thinking or planning.  It’s a great way to begin…….

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in mixed media art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m Baaaacccccck…….

  1. Debyteague says:

    I know how you feel I so the same thing year after year,lol. This year I decided only one resolution. To enjoy the process of creating.

    Like

    • Hey, Deb! Let’s enjoy that process together sometime! Think I may re-do the Faces 101 online class with Carla Sonheim starting Jan. 27th. She’s also got some other classes in the works.

      Like

  2. Hi , Love to see new work from you Marge! Keep making art work. I know life gets in the way sometimes; glad to see that you’ve found your way back to it, now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

