Green Leaves…mini-tutorial

Trying something a little new.  I started by filling my paper all over with pieces of magazine paper ripped into chunks about 1-2 inches in size.  I looked for textures in green since I know I wanted the final picture subject to be leaves.

2014 collage series 003

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next I made my drawing……

2014 collage series 007

 

 

 

 

 

 

I traced this onto tracing paper and then used transfer paper to copy it to my magazine paper collage.  After copying it with the graphite paper I used my brush marker (by Pitt) to trace over all the outlines and make them stand out.

2014 collage series 006

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Starting on the left side I painted the background with acrylic paint in Titan Buff mixed with a little glazing fluid and a wet brush.  Some areas I went back over for more coverage and in some areas I wiped some of the paint off.  This view is a little less than half done.  Remember, only the background–the negative space– gets painted.  The positive areas have the collage showing through. 

2014 collage series 008

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Finished product!  I like it but one thing I learned from this experiment is to keep my positive area shapes larger and the composition a little simpler.  Some of the black outlining was lost in the painting but that was an easy fix with my brush marker.  This is collage #11 for the year and one in my second group of 5/week collages.  This group of 5’s theme is nature–I’ll be posting the rest in the next day or so but I wanted to share the process of this one with all of you.

 

 

Tell me what new processes you’ve tried this year–I’d love to be inspired!

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in mixed media art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

