Inspiration when you least expect it!

Last weekend we did some volunteer work at our local metropark.  It was a small Spring carnival mainly for little kids–a clown, crafts, junk food and game booths with all those kitsy little prizes.  I was assigned the ladybug bean bag toss.  I love working with small children and was having a pretty good time, letting them take extra throws and step closer to the giant lady bug to get the bean bags through the big spots on her red shell.

The bean bags; I loved holding them in my hands and tossing them around and I kept staring at the fabric designs on these hand-made bundles of fun.  I loved the design.  Circles with lines radiating from the center with small dots encircling it.  I was quite taken with the appearance (it’s the little things in life, right?).  I wanted to go home right away and paint this design.  So I did–well, pretty much in the next couple of days.

art work 030

After painting in watercolor I decided to go with a black acrylic background.  I used bottle lids to trace more accurate circles over the designs I’d already painted.  Then I used a blunt end of a wooden skewer to encircle them in white dots.  A few cuts into 4″ x 6″ postcards and they’re ready to go!

watercolor/acrylic postcards

watercolor/acrylic postcards

I did these also.  Some watercolor spots in light, medium and more intense hues with black acrylic dashes in the background.  I know I came across this in a book somewhere that I should be citing but, I’m sorry,  I didn’t write it down and it’s probably been floating in my head a while only to be jostled awake by the other circle design!  It’s been a circle sort of week–who’d a thought!

watercolor/acrylic postcards

watercolor/acrylic postcards

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in mixed media art, painting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspiration when you least expect it!

  1. Very cool designs! I can’t decide if I like the middle or the bottom ones best, I think the black really brings out the bright colors! The bottom one reminds me of an exercise I saw in “water, paper, paint”

    Like

  2. Thank you, thank you! I knew I saw that or something like it somewhere. I’ll have to put that book on my Amazon wish list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

