Backgrounds for Breakfast

Cereal boxes make great substrates for postcards and it makes me feel like Mother  Earth when I’m being green and finding a use for a throwaway!  (Actually, I would recycle but this even feels better). Plus–free art stuff!

image

Start by opening up the box to lay flat.  Then I put a light layer of gesso over the section I plan to use.  This is optional depending on what you’d like to put on next–if you’re going straight to paint or drawing materials you’ll probably need the toothy surface.  An all over collage works fine without the gesso.  I kind of like some of the text and design from the box to show through the layers.  Next is whatever and how much until you get to that surface that says, “I’m ready”.  Just play–paint, collage, textures, stamping, spray inks–no rules, have fun, after all, it’s just a cereal box!

I can get three postcards (about 4 x 6) from the front of a cereal box or you can use your awesome new background for any number of creative projects.  A cover for a handmade book would be an excellent choice.

Here are some of the postcard backgrounds that are good to go.  Just a few add ons to finish off each card and a postage stamp to send them out into the world!

image

About artsynaturenut

I'm a creative warrior constantly fighting my battle with my muse against that nasty critic. I love to paint and do mixed media work either on the canvas or with art journals. I'll dabble in just about everything--bookmaking, photography, writing, etc. and get excited about combining them. Hence the mixed media!
This entry was posted in Mail Art, mixed media art, painting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

